why/what was I called a gunner?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HEADintheCLOUDS

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
OK so I have a test this friday and so I am studying super hard this week, even during the 10 minute breaks we get bewtween consecutive lectures. SO said guy come up to me and asks why I am studying during breaks since our school is p/NP adn I am already prepared enough to pass. So I tell him I want to get above a 95% and want to be #1 or at least try to be. Said person calls me a gunner and walks off.

1. What is a gunner?
2.why would he call me a gunner? (I have never gone hunting in my life)

Members don't see this ad.

OK so I have a test this friday and so I am studying super hard this week, even during the 10 minute breaks we get bewtween consecutive lectures. SO said guy come up to me and asks why I am studying during breaks since our school is p/NP adn I am already prepared enough to pass. So I tell him I want to get above a 95% and want to be #1 or at least try to be. Said person calls me a gunner and walks off.

1. What is a gunner?

Why do you want to be #1? Are you guys ranked?

There's nothing wrong with wanting to do your best, but I wouldn't go around saying you want to be #1 in your class.

Didn't you just post about failing a class? I would worry more about that than being #1 in this one.

Members don't see this ad :)
Didn't you just post about failing a class? I would worry more about that than being #1 in this one.

NO my class isnt ranked but I figure if I aim for being number one or getting 100% then when I take the cummulative exam at the end of the year (which is ranked) then I will be better prepared and get #1 then also.

Why is saying that you want to be number 1 bad? I mean is aiming for success wrong?