Quantcast

WICHE applicant?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tlawrence

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hi everyone,
I really need some advice about WICHE. I am a California resident (though I did my undergrad in Maine and doing an MPH in Dublin, Ireland for the past year) and my top choice medical school is the Univeristy of North Dakota. I know it says on the website that non- ND residents are discouraged from applying but they reserve up to six seats for WICHE applicants. Has anyone utilized this programme? The WICHE website is really difficult to understand and I can't figure out if I am qualified for the programme but I haven't lived in California for five years and am really disappointed it is hurting my chances of getting into certain medical schools in the midwest, as that is where I'm aiming to go.
Thank you for all the advice!

tlawrence

Reaction score
California is one of the participating WICHE states though..?

JRG

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
A WICHE applicant is an applicant from a WICHE state without a medical school. You won't qualify.

+1 most participating schools only see Montana and Wyoming residents as wiche applicants for MD. Some also look more preferentially at Idaho and Alaska residents. Sorry, I hear being a Cali resident definitely has its drawbacks when applying.

MT Headed

snow, PBR, and bears
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score

http://www.wiche.edu/psep

Take a look at the chart at the bottom. It lists each profession (allo, vet, osteo, pod, etc) and the states that are allowed to send students to other states. With allopathic medicine for instance, MT and WY are the only sending states. For DO and the other professions it is different.

Also, if you go to the UND website, they only accept students from ND, MT, and a small slice of MN located just across the border.

sector9

Moderator Emeritus
7+ Year Member
Reaction score