Will an Aide Job Help?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fallingreason

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I have a bit of a dilemma at the moment and would be appreciative of any helpful input.

I graduated from college last May, and am planning on applying to PT school this Fall. So far I have only obtained observation hours at an outpatient ortho/sports clinic, but will be starting at an inpatient/acute care setting soon.

My issue is, I was just offered a full time Aide position at the sports clinic I am volunteering at, which would be a really fun and interesting job, however, it will only pay $12/hr, and I might not even get 40 hours every week. Since I graduated from college, I have been working as a research assistant at Stanford, which has allowed me to save money, buy a car, be financially independent, etc. It pays near twice what the Aide job would. So, obviously if I leave Stanford it would have to be for a VERY good reason.

Can anyone provide input on whether they think an Aide job will significantly help me out come time to apply to schools? Or, is the quality of my observation hours and my relationships with PT's and their letters going to play a much bigger factor than having an Aide job?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Well, that is a tough scenario. On one hand, in my area Aide jobs are hard to come by (without moving to the city), so I'd have to be pressed pretty hard to not accept.

What exactly are you doing as a research assistant? Is it something that will further you in the future? (Are you looking to also go after a PhD?) Is it related to the PT field?