Will I make it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gumshoe

LARGE Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I am a graduate one year out from Vanderbilt, have 10-8-10-S MCAT, 3.35 GPA, good recs, and some research experience last summer. My home state is IL. Do you think I have a shot? I'm all in. Just wanted to see what you guys thought about someone who is borderline with all these madd stats. I am fluent in spanish and I want to help in that area, which I thought would help. Any comments, criticisms, etc? Thanks for looking at my thread.

Cheers,
Gumshoe

Members don't see this ad.

Maybe this will make you feel better...MSAR book says someone with your stats will have a more difficult time than someone with a 3.5 and a 30, but there are many (hundreds) who are in med school with your scores (each year).

This may also make you feel better: I only have a 2.97 uGPA and have interviewed at one school already. (UIC)

Good luck.

Your MCAT is o.k., if you feel that you gave it your all when you took it then don't retake. Your GPA is o.k. as well. I too get discouraged looking at some of the ridiculous stats people post on here but just remember that people with avg. stats tend not to post them very frequently. People with higher stats, are usually very proud of them and are probably more at ease posting them.

You'd be a good candidate for UIC. Especially with your fluency in Spanish. Also, take a good look at Rush b/c you indicate that you'd like to serve in an underserved spanish speaking community. Rush is pretty big on that. As for top 25 med schools, don't waste your time applying to them. Shoot for lower and middle tier schools.

I'm from IL too and I'm applying right now. You can PM me if you need any more info.

Good Luck.

Members don't see this ad :)