Medical Will it be a concern to adcoms if I have a lot of research hours, but no pubs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. Thank you in advance for the help.
Im a pre-med student in my third year looking to apply to medical schools next summer and something that has been really bothering me is that I have no publications. However, I have 4000+ hours of research. I did three poster presentations (same poster three times, first author, one of them being a national conference), and won a summer research fellowship, but those are the only tangible things I got out it. I just got really unlucky. The first lab I was a part of moved after I worked in it for like 6 months, and then my second lab was new and wasn’t really encouraging in terms of presenting and giving out pubs. I feel like medical schools will see this as a big fault in my application to have 4,000+ hours, but no publications. Please give me advice on how to approach it in my application. Thank you.
All this is irrelevant without knowing what the test of your app is like

Members don't see this ad.

- ORM
-Midwest resident, large public university
-Math and Neuro dual degree, 3.99 cGPA, 3.99 sGPA
- 526 MCAT
- Around 700 volunteering hours (50% clinical and 50% non-clinica)
- 120 shadowing hours (family physician, nuerosurgery, pediatric cardiology, adult congenital disease Cardiology, Interventional cardiology)
- President of 2 well known clubs with awards, Ochem TA (2 years), Resident Advisor (1 year), peer tutor (1 year)
- Started a tutoring program for underserved communities
- App-developer, won two awards at hospital and got funding to further develop it
- Interned and developed a ideal-state process map at local hospital to reduce readmissions and presented it to the hospital quality team
- Other ECs
UG students with pubs are RARE. It's more important that you learn something about the scientific method.