Will my community college credits hurt my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

malikhind

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, my first year of college I went to a community college because I was not sure what I wanted to do as a career and I did not want to waste money at a university. I have 37 credit hours, 3.92 oGPA and 4.0 sGPA from the community college. The only pre-reqs I took were university physics 1/2 and the rest will be completed at a university. I'm currently a sophomore and after this semester I should have 31 credit hours with a oGPA of 3.57 and sGPA of 3.52 at my university. I messed up my first semester at university because I didn't take it as seriously as I should have because I was conditioned by my first year at community college. I got straight B's in gChem 1 and Biology (organismal) and a elective. However, this semester I should be getting a 4.0 in all my science classes. If I do as well as I hope on the DAT, could this effect my negatively if I am applying to top dental schools (i.e. Columbia, Harvard, NYU etc...)? By the time I apply I should have around a 3.8 cumulative GPA and I aim for at least a 23 on the DAT.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user