Will these past experiences improve radiology residency chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Monkey Shocker

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a software engineer thinking of going to medical school. Reading up on the specialties, it seems radiology would be a fit for me. I currently work at a company that produces imaging software used by researchers in hospitals and universities, so I have some practical familiarity with imaging modalities. I was also a BME in undergrad and Medical Imaging was my favorite class. I also possess a master's degree in CompE and presented my thesis at a top conference in my field of research.

I'm also happy sitting alone at a computer for hours at a time. :)

I ask about radiology chances because I am pretty certain that this is the specialty I would like to pursue were I to be accepted to medical school. Basically if I didn't get into radiology (or maybe neurology) I don't think I would be a good fit for medicine due to my slightly autistic nature.

Is 'rads or bust' a reasonable attitude? I know it is probably the third most desirable residency, but I think that someone with my background and personality is 'the real deal' for radiology, rather than someone who wants a good lifestyle but is more social and less versed in technology.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

I am a software engineer thinking of going to medical school. Reading up on the specialties, it seems radiology would be a fit for me. I currently work at a company that produces imaging software used by researchers in hospitals and universities, so I have some practical familiarity with imaging modalities. I was also a BME in undergrad and Medical Imaging was my favorite class. I also possess a master's degree in CompE and presented my thesis at a top conference in my field of research.

I'm also happy sitting alone at a computer for hours at a time. :)