Women in Urology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rachana

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know there is an old post sort of on this topic, but I wanted to ask if there are any female urology residents who can tell me if they are happy with their decision to enter the field. I'm a third-year med student (female) and am seriously considering, so I'd appreciate any open, honest advice. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

rachana said:
I know there is an old post sort of on this topic, but I wanted to ask if there are any female urology residents who can tell me if they are happy with their decision to enter the field. I'm a third-year med student (female) and am seriously considering, so I'd appreciate any open, honest advice. Thank you!

Although I'm not a woman, I felt it would be important to give you at least some kind of reply since no one else has.

I've met many women who are currently in training as urology residents. These include med school friends, current coresidents, and residents I knew as a med student. Unfortunately, I haven't met many practicing female urologists. Only a few attendings on the interview trail. I haven't met any through rotations or actual work. So, take this heresay as you will.

I think that most women are very happy they entered the field as are the men who do. You can read on this forum all about the great aspects of urology, and I think women tend to enjoy those aspects as much as any man does. You get the chance to operate. Most of your cases occur during regular working hours. Call tends to not be so bad. Not many emergencies. The pay is pretty good too. Better than gen surg, but not as good as ortho. Probably on par with ENT.