Wondering if Pre-Med is the way to go.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bunsofawesome

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm a 2nd year engineering student at a random southern university. I recently decided after visiting some actual engineers/our engineering campus, that its not the right path for me. And am looking more into the pre-med path for a few reasons and was hoping you guys could help me out.

My situation:
~3.0 gpa (could be pulled up to a 3.5 as the rest of the classes I have to take as a bio major are breezy) already have a minor in physics

-Not many ECs but working to get caught up on that with shadowing/volunteering this summer. Main thing is I've held an officer position of a sports club (which I plan on doing a sort of outreach thing with elementary schools next year)

-Wanted to be a doctor since I was little, when I got in as a freshman the 10 years of school scared me away.

-Very interested in biomechanics and interaction between bones/muscles/tendons also with the functioning of the cns/hormones.

Based on the above what sort of positions should I look into for shadowing? My aunt is a neurosurgeon and has urged me to stay away from that.

Has anyone else ever switched to a pre-med track this far down the road?

I have always tested well in math/phy/chem with little difficulties but am planning on working very hard to get my GPA as high as possible. I skipped or slept through most of high school and came out with a 3.6 :laugh:

Also I was wondering, Im trying to catch up to the 4 year track over the summer, if I took 2 classes at a smaller college closer to home would that have a negative impulse on my med school admission?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Very interested in biomechanics and interaction between bones/muscles/tendons also with the functioning of the cns/hormones.