Working as a paramedic while in medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedicJosh

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know there have been a multitude of threads regarding working during medical school and I know that it is generally not recommended.

I was wondering if any paramedics who went to medical school continued to work during medical school? If so, any comments about that experience would be much appreciated.

I imagine it would really depend on the type of EMS system. For instance, one of the places I currently work as a medic I'm in a fly car for a volunteer agency which is primarily BLS, so I for the most part I only transport on ALS calls. This allows me a fair amount of time to study/sleep while at work.

Members don't see this ad.

I know there have been a multitude of threads regarding working during medical school and I know that it is generally not recommended.

I was wondering if any paramedics who went to medical school continued to work during medical school? If so, any comments about that experience would be much appreciated.

I imagine it would really depend on the type of EMS system. For instance, one of the places I currently work as a medic I'm in a fly car for a volunteer agency which is primarily BLS, so I for the most part I only transport on ALS calls. This allows me a fair amount of time to study/sleep while at work.

It's doable. I'm a 2nd year and I'm actually at work right now lol. I average 24 hours a week as a 2nd year, and 36 to 48 hours as a 1st year. Granted the service isn't all that busy, I probably average 5 calls/24hrs.

When I first started I told myself I wasn't going to keep working, that lasted about a month before I wanted to off myself. I love the fire service so it is a great way for me to blow off steam. I probably would have tanked 1st year if not for getting a job lol.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user