Working in hospital pharmacy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

danyoung2003200

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been working in a hopsital pharmacy for the past 5 months and I must say that I love it. I am now sure that this is something that I want to do. I was just wondering who else here works in a hospital pharmacy and what your duties included, just to see how different hospitals work. I was also wondering what you all have to wear to work.

Members don't see this ad.

danyoung2003200 said:
I have been working in a hopsital pharmacy for the past 5 months and I must say that I love it. I am now sure that this is something that I want to do. I was just wondering who else here works in a hospital pharmacy and what your duties included, just to see how different hospitals work. I was also wondering what you all have to wear to work.

I work at a pedi hospital. I usually make the chemotherapy during the week, and I work ICU on Saturdays, covering the whole hospital alone with one pharmacist from 6:30pm-9pm. It can be intense, but I love it.

Typically, I'll wear scrubs, but today I decided to wear "normal" clothes (slacks, nice shirt, etc). Generally, anything is fine as long as it isn't revealing, open-toe shoes, T-shirts with logos on it, or blue jeans.

FutureRxGal,

I would love to hear more about your experiences in oncology pharmacy. Is the pharamcist you work with a clinical pharmacist? (did you go through residency and what not?) Does she just work in the pharmacy or does she also see patients and monitor drug therapy? That aspect of pharmacy seems very appealing to me.

I look forward to your response!

Members don't see this ad :)
danyoung2003200 said: