worried about OB/GYN grade

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

missylee

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm planning on doing Ob/gyn...my clinicals went great and I think my evaluations will be excellent but on the NMBE final I did avg. which was below avg for my group. I usually do really well on shelf exams (90s) so I wasn't worried about this one and I studied hard and I actually felt really good about it. Anyway, there's no way I'm going to get an Honors. I'm hoping it'll work out to a HP at best.

My question is, how does this fair as an applicant? I've had H and HP in 1st 2 years, and mostly HP during clinicals. Great evaluations all along. Has anyone been in this kind of position before? I just want to get into a really good program...like vanderbilt or northwestern...and I'm wondering whether I'm just dreaming. Thanks for your replies in advance!!

Members don't see this ad.

missylee said:
So I'm planning on doing Ob/gyn...my clinicals went great and I think my evaluations will be excellent but on the NMBE final I did avg. (70) which was below avg for my group. I usually do really well on shelf exams (90s) so I wasn't worried about this one and I studied hard and I actually felt really good about it. Anyway, there's no way I'm going to get an Honors. I'm hoping it'll work out to a HP at best.

My question is, how does this fair as an applicant? I've had H and HP in 1st 2 years, and mostly HP during clinicals. 240 on step 1. Great evaluations all along. Has anyone been in this kind of position before? I just want to get into a really good program...like vanderbilt or northwestern...and I'm wondering whether I'm just dreaming. Thanks for your replies in advance!!