Would I be out of line asking for a raise?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stirling

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im working as a technician for an office. I’ve been working for 6 months. Before I took this job, I got my BS in Biology. I’m applying for optometry school currently.

I make $10/hr. I know it’s very low compared to others with a similar degree, but I think that the scope of my work doesn’t even use my degree. And I think that’s why I’m only making $10/hr.

In the six months’ time I’ve worked, I’ve improved the quality of my scans. When I started, the doctor would sometimes order a rescan of an OCT or a retake of a photo because the quality was too low. Also, I would sometimes fall behind when pre-testing and make the doctor late. Now, I’m sometimes waiting on an open exam room and am rarely behind (usually it’s due to over-booking or longer patient visits when we are behind). I haven’t had a rescan or photo retake ordered in the past several weeks. I’ve also learned how to run the front desk when our receptionist is busy and can manage it on my own. I keep the machines clean and operational to the best of my ability and handle all over-the-phone tech-support.

Given the above, would I be likely to receive a raise if I make my case as stated above?

Members don't see this ad.

If I were your employer, I wouldn't give you a raise. If you were a positive employee, I wouldn't be angered, but I don't think your reasoning of becoming competent after a training period merits a raise. Especially if you were only hired 6 months ago. I would definitely expect some kind of longevity raise after 1 year. You are doing entry level work that has nothing to do with your degree. This is so entry level that most offices only require a highschool diploma. You are over-qualified for the job, and are only working it to advance your prospects of getting into optometry school.