Would really appreciate your advice! Thank you!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MasterFlash

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello:

If you're reading this, thank you- I would love as much feedback and advice as I can get. It's always been my dream to go to medical school and my husband and I have recently been able to make a plan for me to attempt what I've always wanted. I graduated from undergrad 11 years ago -- I went through some personal difficulties at the time and have low cum gpa of 2.59 - psychology major. Additionally, I have low SAT scores - it's been so long I honestly can't even remember, but I think it was 1070/1090/something like that.

Since college, I have been working with foster youth and the mentally ill. I really enjoy it and got my master's degree in social work in 2009. I was in a much better space, more mature and knew what I wanted and I graduated with a 3.979 GPA. Since then, I've passed by state licensure exams and have been employed as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker. I have several years experience providing therapy and behavioral health services to children and families, as well as working in a pediatric clinic as the developmental social worker.

I still need to take all my science classes so think a post bacc would be best for me -- I am concerned though -- do you guys think I have a chance of getting in to a post bacc with my low GPA and SAT score? All the programs I've seen require standardized test scores.
Because of my low GPA, should I try to study and take the GRE? instead of submitting an old SAT score?

I am looking for honest feedback about how to proceed and if I have a chance of getting in to a post bacc and subsequent medical school with my undergrad past.

I am also Latina (born here to immigrant parents) and have read this may help me too?

Thank you if you read this whole post!

Members don't see this ad.