Would you hire a PhD graduate as Pharmacy Intern or Tech?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wey

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I recently have this question when looking for job opportunities to get pharmacy internship hours.

[A little about myself]
I came to the States for graduate school, but recently feel that basic science research is not so much what I want to pursue for the rest of my life. One of the options I have been considering is to become a clinical pharmacist. During grad school, as a foreign pharmacy graduate, I was able to pass FPGEE, TOEFL, obtain my FPGEC, and I currently hold an intern license.
To become a pharmacist, I need to accumulate 1500 internship hours in the States. I have tried applying for internship positions and emailing around, but no luck in getting a paid position. I do not have visa or sponsorship issue, so my guess is that I might be lacking real clinical pharmacy experience with only a few rotations and internships. But I am competing with other pharmacy graduate students who would not have much experience, either.
So…

[Question]
What would a hiring person be looking for when hiring an intern? Should I also try applying for tech positions?

Although I was lucky to get a volunteer position, I have to keep my current job to pay my bills and can only squeeze so little time to volunteer at the pharmacy to get my hours, which has been overwhelming just for the past two months or so. I cannot imagine living this life for another two years juggling amongst two jobs. So I really hope I could find something to quickly accumulate my internship hours!