You know you're a neurotic premed when...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HeronsBeak

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
You think submitting mid June is going to kill your application.

What are your neuroticisms this app cycle?

Members don't see this ad.

Reading about people who have YEARS of clinical experience working as an assistant in a clinic or have shadowed physicians for 1000+ hours.......

:scared:

This is my rant (takes a DEEP breath):
I am a business major and was involved in student government and had a leadership position in a business-ey club that took up lots of time (around 1000 hrs) and I think that my lack of clinical experience is the worst part of my application. I do have an administrative internship during the summer in our hospital system and yes, I have shadowing experience and clinical volunteering (albeit only a paltry 100-200 hours...) I am also an EMT-B, but I haven't done anything with it since I got it fairly recently, so that isn't good. ;(

This rant just showcases my neuroticism :D

clinical volunteering (albeit only a paltry 100-200 hours...) I am also an EMT-B, but I haven't done anything with it since I got it fairly recently, so that isn't good.

That's actually a very respectable amount of hours.

I was a college athlete, did research, and was involved in a lot of non-medical volunteering so my clinical hours were very, very low... like zero when my app was submitted and I ended up with 20. With that being said, I was more than fine and no one even asked me about it in any of my interviews because it was clear I was involved in other things. Your time spent in other areas will reflect your dedication. I wouldn't worry about that level of experience - it's still a lot!

Members don't see this ad :)
Looking at people with a 3.8/42MCAT and asking if they have a chance... people better off than I who are also neurotic just makes it worse.