This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Billy4810

Reaction score
Hello! I am a recent undergraduate (spring 23) with a cgpa of 3.3 and a sgpa of 3.0 and an MCAT of 505. I took a break to reconsider mediciine and reflect/take time off after a long year. I’m considering my options and I’m not sure whether I should take an SMP with a linkage or a DIY postbac? My gpa started low freshman year went higher sophmore year dipped considerably junior year and slowly picked up a bit senior year. In terms of ECs I don’t have much, about 500 clinical research hours, some shadowing, a ton of volunteering. i plan on shadowing more and gaining more clinical experience in the next few months hopefully. Im thinking my best bet is probably DO and im probably not competitive for MD, is that accurate?

If I do the SMP, I realize that they are extremely difficult and the linkage is sometime tough to achieve. I have heard some success stories, done research on sdn, and am trying to research school to see which ones have a higher matriculation rate into their medical schools. Any advice or suggestions with this?

If I do a DIY postbac, would it be okay if i take the classes online? I also am not certain how much they will raise my gpa, i currently have 226.1 science semester hours so not sure how many classes i would need to take. Also..