2020 Merger info

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GOHOGS!

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! I am a premed student who was planning on going into a DO program in 2017. I know this topic has been talked about a lot on here, but I had a couple questions of mine own about the future for DO grads. Given all the new DO schools opening up, will DOs have a hard time finding a job at all (primary care or tougher specialties)? I'd hate to go hundreds of thousands of dollars into debt at a DO school and not be able to find a job. I want to go into IM or FM (this obviously has a good chance of changing). It seems like this merger and the expansion of DO schools is going to be very bad for the DO title. How many of the AOA residences do you guys think will end up being ACGME approved? I know the info on the merger is scarce, but I know a lot of you guys are more informed on it than I am! Thanks for the help!

Members don't see this ad.

If you want to do FM or IM, even if you're an average DO student (hell, even sub-par), you'll match fine.

Reactions: 1 user
Ok thanks for the reply! It's just hard to get a feel for just how bad this merger is going to be... With these new school openings will there be more residencies or will it just be more applicants for the same amount of residencies?

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad :)
Ok thanks for the reply! It's just hard to get a feel for just how bad this merger is going to be... With these new school openings will there be more residencies or will it just be more applicants for the same amount of residencies?

Residencies open and close every year. If you matriculate in the next 1-2 years, it should be fine. After that, people will have to think hard about matriculating to a DO school. But, there will of course be enough applicants, so medicine will eventually end up like pharm and podiatry.