Can I get into a US school or Carribean school or anywhere?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aag614

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a post baccalaureate student finishing up the program at one of he local universities. However, I was curious to know if I could get in anywhere? My cumulative GPA is 3.4, science is about 3.0 but I really bombed the MCAT (I got a 17) and I don't know what to do. Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

I am a post baccalaureate student finishing up the program at one of he local universities. However, I was curious to know if I could get in anywhere? My cumulative GPA is 3.4, science is about 3.0 but I really bombed the MCAT (I got a 17) and I don't know what to do. Thank you

Members don't see this ad :)
That MCAT score is not consistent with success.

Would my only option be to take the new one then?
To become a physician? Yes. Preferably after mastering the content and developing a strategy for the test. The more low scores racked up, the lower your chances.

Reactions: 1 user

There will be no way to get into a medical school with a 17 MCAT, you would have to retake it and score much better to get into medical school. There is still a possibility to get into some schools that take your 2nd MCAT score, but many schools wont consider a 2nd MCAT score. There are different policies at different schools and it would be your job to figure out which schools would be accepting of your retake.

Good luck.

"There will be no way to get into a medical school with a 17 MCAT, you would have to retake it and score much better to get into medical school. There is still a possibility to get into some schools that take your 2nd MCAT score, but many schools wont consider a 2nd MCAT score. There are different policies at different schools and it would be your job to figure out which schools would be accepting of your retake."