Did the expected salary for psychiatry make you hesitate about choosing psychiatry? If yes, how did you get over your hesitation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anotherwin

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just looking to get some different opinions, as I am a current medical student who is leaning towards psych but is hesitating because of the average salary.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Not at all, because the hours and lifestyle more than compensate for not being paid like a surgeon.

Now PGY3 still with zero regrets.

Reactions: 12 users
I second Celexa. Keep in mind that the raw salary you see in surveys isn't the only thing that matters, the hours worked (which often get ignored) matter a great deal. If you want to work surgery hours in psychiatry you can do so and make significantly more than the average psychiatrist. For me earning a normal psychiatrist's salary while also enjoying some work-life balance is more than enough.

Reactions: 15 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Just looking to get some different opinions, as I am a current medical student who is leaning towards psych but is hesitating because of the average salary.
Not trying to seem rude, but if the average salary is preventing you from committing to psychiatry, I wouldn't commit to it at all. There are a lot of factors that play a role in choosing a specialty. If average salary is your biggest concern, go for some sort of surgical specialty or become CEO of Bloomberg.

Reactions: 6 users
Not trying to seem rude, but if the average salary is preventing you from committing to psychiatry, I wouldn't commit to it at all. There are a lot of factors that play a role in choosing a specialty. If average salary is your biggest concern, go for some sort of surgical specialty or become CEO of Bloomberg.