How am I doing so far and what I can improve

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Naokuvi

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN. I am about to enter my sophomore year of undergrad and I want to share my stats with all of you so I can get advice on where I can improve and some advice on things I can do before I apply for medical school. I am an Asian-American Texas Resident and my dream school is TCOM (Osteopathic School) although I am planning to apply to all Texas Medical Schools. I recently posted a similar thread to the Osteopathic Forum but I want to get insight from the Allopathic side as well!
Here are my current stats:

cGPA: 4.0
sGPA: 4.0
Shadowing: 40 Hours (D.O and M.D)
Non-Clinical Volunteering: 100 Hours
Clinical Volunteering: 30 Hours
3 Leadership Positions (1 in my school's pre-med organization as the secretary, 1 in an philanthropy organization I helped create last semester to benefit a Children's Miracle Network Hospital, and 1 as a Freshman Mentor for my school's Honors Scholarship program)

I have a lot of non-clinical volunteering because of the work I do through my home town city during the summer and my city of residence during college. My clinical volunteering is a bit lacking because I was unable to get a hospital volunteering position during the summer and by the time I applied for a position my freshman year everywhere near me was filled. My clinical volunteering is mainly through health fairs/clinics for the uninsured and hospice care.

My plan for the coming years: Continue volunteering in my current clinical areas as well as pick up a weekly volunteer position at a hospital. Shadow different medical practices as I have only shadowed family doctors so far. Continue my non-clinical volunteering work. I may also try research however the idea of research doesn't really excite me and I don't want to do it just to do it.