LECOM-Erie or AZCOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr.ChrisDO

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
PLEASE READ MY ENTIRE POST BEFORE COMMENTING. I know it’s terribly long but I wanted to give you all the information in my head so you could help me out properly.

Background:
Graduated from a UC school in southern California. I graduated last year with a 3.75cGPA and 3.5sGPA. My highest MCAT score (out of two) was a 30. LECOM-Erie was the first school I was accepted to and, due to weird tuition deposit policies, placed my deposit in early December. I have recently been accepted to AZCOM and am now considering switching.

Field of Interest:
Pediatric orthopedic surgery. I can hear many of you giggling and thinking that most people change their interest while in medical school. I am open to all the different branches of medicine but, currently, I am very interested in ortho and want to go to a school that will open as many doors as possible

LECOM-Erie:
Accepted into PBL program. I feel I could do well in the program. My only concern is that a substantial chunk of my GPA (about 75%+) will be determined by just a few exams every semester. Because all the different subject topics are taught under the one big “Problem Based Learning” course umbrella, there is literally no room to do poorly. If you screw up one exam, your GPA takes a massive hit with little room for recovery. Faculty is nonexistent in PBL. You only have one PBL coordinator who’s a PhD and he is your “go-to” person for OMSI and OMSII. Also, no anatomy lab. Don't know the effect of this.