Need help with school list for CA resident with 3.76 GPA and 36 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MaybeDr

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 11.24.51 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 11.24.51 AM.png
    80.2 KB · Views: 205
Last edited:
I am also a CA resident making my school list and I have just two comments on your list.

1. It seems really top heavy, what schools do you consider "safer" choices? I say this not knowing how these schools look at 3 MCAT attempts.

2. Look into how UW accepts OOS students. Their OOS percentage may be high on paper, but most of those seats go to students from the WWAMI region. The actual out of WWAMI aceptance rate is 0.3% per their website.

Source: http://www.uwmedicine.org/education/documents/md-program/UWSOM-AdmissionsProcess.pdf

I agree with the above poster, this school list looks very top heavy to me. If the 36 was on your first attempt, then maybe this list would have been more reasonable, but if I were you I would cut a couple of those heavy hitters (Stanford, UCSF, Univ Washington) and also leave out Boston university (they get a huge number of applicants and only select students for interviews who they believe match their mission)

Members don't see this ad :)
It's been my understanding that they only really look at your most current score. I was told by an advisor that regardless if they look at all or one score that they would be impressed by the verbal improvement rather than holding it against me.

I misinterpreted MSAR's comment- "Note: Residents of WA, WY, AK, MT, ID are considered "in-state" " I thought they were saying they included them in the in state category.