Need to improve application, please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

redwings54

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, so here is my quandary. I have searched all the forums and have asked questions before, but I haven’t gotten much concrete advice other than to keep plugging. I graduated from a top Liberal Arts college with a chem. degree and minor in philosophy. I was an RA, chem. TA, research assistant for two years with a publication, volunteer at an elementary school and captained our rugby team. I had fun in college but because of a lot of personal stuff I went through and the fact that I wasn’t comfortable with myself, my GPA suffered at the expense of me trying to find out who I am. My GPA is 3.05 with a science GPA of 2.79 I won a prestigious fellowship upon graduation studying holistic medicine so I have tons of experience in that field plus shadowing of both DOs and MDs. I took the MCAT twice, 25 first time and 24 second. Second time I was working full time, had 6 people pass away in my life in 10 months and found out my dad had cancer 2 weeks before the test. Needless to say, I should have been more prepared, but I wasn’t. Currently, I am pretty sure I am getting a job working as a phlebotomist and lab assistant at our local hospital, and I am working on two publications on medical anthropology from my fellowship. In the meantime, I am substitute teaching.