Physics: I'm a little freaked out

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CookDeRosa

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So if you're browsing threads looking for someone to beat up on, you can keep on browsing.

I think some of you know my story- I'm a mom with 4 children and career changer. I've been a professional chef since 1990 (technically- a community college culinary instructor for most of those years). I attended culinary school for my trade, but in 2006 earned my BA for personal enrichment and last year started taking pre-pre-meds (the intro non-science major courses). My degree required only math for liberal arts. I've done great, have a great GPA, enjoyed my intro bio, intro chem, A&Ps, micro, etc. It's all been fine- I've always enjoyed school- and i'm a highly motivated student.

I'm registered for my first "real" pre-meds this term. Gen Bio 1 w/lab and Physics 1 w/lab (algebra/trig - not calc). Classes start in 2 weeks, so I wanted to get a jump on physics since I have never taken it before. I took algebra <cough> 22 years ago, and never trig. I like math, and just figured I'd learn what I didn't know as we went through it.

I just got my physics text, and I'm having a freakin' panic attack. I spent 2 days trying to get through the first 2 chapters- this might be too hard!?! I don't know if I can do it! I'm seriously math-deficient.

In a moment of panic I dropped the class. Now, I'm trying to decide if I should reconsider. As in: reconsider re-registering, but maybe reconsider medicine! If I can't get through physics 1, I certainly can't get through physics 2 which everyone says is harder, and if I can't get through physics 2 what shot do I have at a good MCAT score?