Psychologists prescribing medication

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this section of SDN. I am starting medical school in a few months with an interest in psychiatry and I wanted to ask you future psychologists something

First, a little background. There are a number of states (Like Oregon and New Mexico) that now allow psychologists (PhDs and PsyDs) to persribe some types of medication to patients after a period of training. I'm sure most of you know about this. The requirements vary slightly. Oregon for example requires about an extra week (50 hours) of additional training. The area and types of medicine one can prescribe are restricted of course, but it appears that the rights to PhD/PsyD theraptists is expanding. At first the areas targeted were rural, but now one can prescribe meds in Albuquerque which is the largest city in NM I believe. The psychiatry forum is up in arms about this, as they feel (1) PhDs/PsyDs don't have the training necessary to prescribe meds safety,even after a week of training, and (2) because they don't want to lose one of their key abilities. Of course it's a matter of opinion which issue you think they are more concerned about :rolleyes:

My question is: are you future psychologists planning on taking this extra class so you can prescribe meds when you graduate? Is this something you've been planning for? In other words, is one of the reasons you picked a doctorate level training in psychology (PhD/PsyD) because you were interested in the ability to perscribe medication?

May I add that I'm not trying to be abrasive in any way. I saw other threads on this topic and their were troll posts for the most part. I have family who are psychologists as well as psychiatrists and we all get along just fine.

Thanks for your input

Members don't see this ad.