Social Awkwardness in Clinical Psychology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AwesomeAutist

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, and thank you in advance for your input!

The situation:
I am an Army veteran and working nurse (BSN).

The problem:
I am socially awkward, and the opinion of more than one psychologist I have consulted is that I am a high-functioning member of the autism spectrum.

The question:
Can a person who is very socially awkward succeed in clinical psychology or are they setting themselves up for failure? If refined people skills ('schmoozing'/networking) aren't critical for patient interaction or teaching (which I understand the meat of clinical psychology to be), are they critically important in other ways that would torpedo my career at a later point?

The details:

From my work history, you can probably guess that I can tolerate social interaction and teach my coworkers to tolerate me. On the other hand, working as a soldier and later going through nursing school and now working as a nurse was/is extremely challenging. I feel like the amount of stimuli I experience in rushed patient interaction is taking years off of my life, even if it is something that I value highly.

However, I have never had a problem with one-on-one interactions--on the contrary, I relish it. It's something that genuinely makes me happy to be privy to someone's most trying times and inner thoughts, and the people that I have talked to have said it is something I'm good at. I suspect this is partly because my interlocutor is receiving my 100% attention, and I clearly value the chance to have this interaction highly because--frankly--I don't have a superabundance of acquaintances to talk to.