Strategies and/or advice for PhD to MD preparation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

adeterminedmonkey

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm currently a PhD student (early on in my PhD) who is interested in attending medical school after I complete my PhD. I knew from the beginning of undergrad that medical school was a serious possibility, so I've already completed all the pre-med curriculum. However, I wanted to be absolutely certain about med school before applying, so I began a PhD program first rather than committing to an MD/PhD. The idea was to see if I could be content with a career solely doing research first, and if I couldn't to then head down the medical track subsequently. I'm very passionate about my research, and have every intention of giving my PhD my all and completing it, but I've realized that for personal reasons solely doing research won't fulfill me without a clinical and medical aspect to it. Shifting over to clinical research without the hands-on medical practice won't do it either, again for personal reasons. I put in a couple hundred hours of shadowing in undergrad, so I believe I know what I'm signing up for (at least, as well as anyone can before actually starting med school/residency/practice, of course).

All this to say, I'm wondering what I can be doing during my PhD to prepare me to become the best possible physician-scientist. Any advice you all might have would be greatly appreciated! I apologize if this is a duplicate of another post, but all the other posts I saw were from people much later in their PhDs who had then decided to pursue medical school. Given I'm early on, I have more time to prepare, so I expected the advice might be different. I'd like to be as proactive as possible to maximize the utility of my PhD years.

Thanks again!

Members don't see this ad.