Stupid attire question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CNphair

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, I apologize in advance...

I am starting a prelim med internship tomorrow. Woo hoo. My first rotation is in the ER...and there has been no orientation whatsoever. So, I'm just wondering about an etiquette issue. I work a 6 am-5 pm shift tomorrow - are scrubs appropriate? I assumed that was the proper attire but then I started to worry...you know, that I might not be dressed right when I kill my first few patients before noon.

Sorry for the stupid question. I'm usually in the Rad Onc forum...we don't think about such things. :rolleyes:

Members don't see this ad.

In the ED in which I am a student, everyone wears scrubs with the notable exception of the chair and a few of the senior docs. However, a few posters on here have stated that they wear dress clothes for every shift in the ED.

My vote is for scrubs.

CNphair said:
Ok, I apologize in advance...

I am starting a prelim med internship tomorrow. Woo hoo. My first rotation is in the ER...and there has been no orientation whatsoever. So, I'm just wondering about an etiquette issue. I work a 6 am-5 pm shift tomorrow - are scrubs appropriate? I assumed that was the proper attire but then I started to worry...you know, that I might not be dressed right when I kill my first few patients before noon.

Sorry for the stupid question. I'm usually in the Rad Onc forum...we don't think about such things. :rolleyes:

I actually start my first day tommorow too!! but I'm starting on wards, so ready for some electrolyte balancing action, haha just joking, I actually don't mind wards.

So, when we had orientation, they told us the only time scrubs are acceptable is when we are on call, post call, or doing the ED month. So, I would be wearing scrubs if it was the first day.

Members don't see this ad :)