When to Go to Med School? Start earlier in AUS or later in US?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mmehl1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated in May 2011, took a job in a cancer physio lab and got published as 4th author, traveled in Australia for 5 months, did one semester of a paid Master's program at CSU in Nutritional Sciences, didn't enjoy it and took a job in Kenya working at a non-profit children's orthopedic hospital doing communications/media/marketing type work documenting surgeries and patients, I got to scrub in multiple times and that's when I decided 100% to pursue medicine. I've come home to finish orgo II and physics II, take the MCAT and begin the application process.

I'm seeing emails from Princeton Review (bought the book for MCAT) forwarding emails from Australian med schools (Flinders and UQ-Ochsner) encouraging application for January 2015 admission. To me, being ready and eager to start medicine, not getting any younger, I see them as an opportunity to do just that. That said, January and August aren't considerably different in the grand scheme of things and if US med schools are simply better, more highly regarded, or entirely a better option for medical school, I will wait.

So what are people's advice or opinion in the situation? Apply and attend med school in Oz earlier resulting in being a doc earlier or wait and go to a (potentially) "better" school and get out six or so months later?

My MCAT date is May 22 and I'm about to finish this (final) semester in two weeks.

Are there other options I'm not seeing to start in January? Could I start earlier somewhere else (non-Carribean), or even, is this fall possible somehow?

Members don't see this ad.

If you want to practice in the U.S. then you should go to school in the U.S.

That's really what it boils down to.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)