27O 3.4 gpa Michigan Resident?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

softballchic168

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi i am a Michigan Resident wanting to go to either DO or MD school in Michigan i got a 27 on the MCAT and have a 3.4 gpa....should i take the MCAT again i am planning on it but if i can get in somewhere i would rather avoid it. I have 2 1/2 years experience working at a major hospital doing research and floor work in infectious disease. I am graduating in 3 years so i don't know if that makes any difference either. Please let me know! Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

With your stats, I think MD will be very tough. You def need to take the MCAT again, cause a 27 will not work. Your GPA is also on the low side for MD, but I think you have a pretty good chance with DO schools.

Graduating in three years won't excuse having an application that is less competitive than the average for schools you want to target. With your low GPA, I suggest you give consideration to an additional year of GPA repair before applying. Becoming more competitive for an in-state school and its lower tuition would be the obvious goal.

Besides your strong clinical experience and research, I hope you also have some formal physician shadowing, nonmedical community service, and maybe teaching and/or leadership to help make your application stronger. Solid ECs can help to trump lower stats.

Members don't see this ad :)
I know my gpa isn't the greatest but i do have other ECs i have worked at a homeless shelter for the past three years, gone on rounds and shadowed several doctors, volunteered at an elementary after school day care program, coached volleyball and am currently volunteering at a hospital on a patients floor where i am constantly in contact with them. I also have amazing letters of recommendation. Do medical schools look at letters of recommendation for primary applications?