29 not sure what route to take.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dean4409

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
This is my first time posting so any and all feedback would be greatly appreciated.

My name is Wesley I am starting over at the age of 29. My first career was in criminal justice, I was a police officer for 7 years and was a supervisor for a year of my time on the force. I resigned due to having a family and a near death incident I got enrolled and have begun a surgical technology program which I will graduate in May and start working as a CST. I graduated from the University of Oklahoma and have a BS in Crim Justice. I begun graduate school a few years back for a MS in criminal justice, but have gotten out of the field.

I have an undergrad GPA of 2.6 and a grad school GPA of 3.5. My last 60 hours GPA is 3.6. I am not sure which way to head after I finish my CST program.

My whole family is in nursing, but I have thought about medical school, PA school, and perfusion school.

I know I am not the most competitive due to my grades, but I would still need to take pre reqs for many of the programs. Since starting over after a few "fun" years in college I have excelled and now know how to study and take advantages of the courses. I predict all A's or all A's and a B or 2 in the prereqs.

Am I out of my mind for thinking med school is a possibility? How will my age affect my changes of getting into medical school I would be 32 or 33 by the time I begin Med School.

Thanks

W. Dean

Members don't see this ad.

I can address the age question right now: definitely not an issue! Most D.O. schools look favorably on reinvention and life experience. They also are fairly generous about forgiving a lower GPA as long as you show a substantial and convincing upward trend.