29 years old, bachelor's degree looking to develop as a military physician

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ncp2903

Reaction score
Greetings everyone,

I'm 29 years old, bachelor's degree in Biology with some pre-med courses (no MCAT). Looking to develop as a military physician. I have no prior military experience.

I am looking forward to enlist in the Navy. I am thinking how It would be the best path for me, the military is a huge commitment, and I'm considering this as my future career and lifestyle, I want to do well.

I've read plenty of advice regarding on how to pursue a successful MD career through the military. However I would like some insights on my case.

I am thinking the best scenario would be enlisting, complete the contract. Apply to an MD program under the USUH, HPSP, or HSCP program. The reason considering not enlisting as an Officer is economical hardship; I'm in debt and my family needs my help. Going to school, complete the courses and score a high MCAT is going to take a couple of years, and given the scenario I'm passing through at this point, I would like to enlist.
Enlisting, clearing debt and using GI Bill to go to college and developing financial stability is my plan for now, then complete medical training. Am I too old for this? Is anybody here that has gone through a similar process?

Best of all and thanks for your help,

Members don't see this ad.

In my eyes, everyone is living longer so your 30's are like the new 20's and it is never too late to pursue your aspirations.

For what it is worth, my mentor is an O-6 who changed careers in his mid 30's before joining med school and going through HPSP.
I am also a non-trad who changed careers, performed an accelerated master's program, and got accepted to med school before applying for HPSP.