Premed559

2+ Year Member
Jul 31, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
I'm 2 years out of undergraduate school. My science GPA was 3.23 / cumulative 3.3. I'm currently studying to taking my MCAT in January. I did track and field for 2 years in college, was part of a fraternity and held office for 1 year. I volunteered for 1 summer at rotacare after graduating but moved to another location so I stopped going. I am now doing that again at my current city and doing clinical research with a doctor at a hospital. I'm set up to shadow a few physicians at a general surgery group as well. I am also registered to take microbiology class at the community college this fall. I've been an ER scribe for 2 years, lead scribe for about 8 months. I am of Mexican descent and am first generation student.

Negatives: I recently was charged with a DUI for driving a friend home a few weeks ago (0.13%) after running a yellow light that turned red.

What should I do at this point? I'm afraid that no school will look at my application because of the DUI.

gyngyn

Staff member
Administrator
Lifetime Donor
7+ Year Member
Nov 4, 2011
Status
Attending Physician
No one can help without an MCAT score.
I you don't speak Spanish fluently, now would be a good time to start.
Community service?
Shadow longitudinal care instead of tertiary care, if at all possible.

Reactions: Goro
May 21, 2016
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
No one can help without an MCAT score.
I you don't speak Spanish fluently, now would be a good time to start.
Community service?
Shadow longitudinal care instead of tertiary care, if at all possible.
I always thought DUIs were essentially a death sentence? Certainly they aren't going to ignore that

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

gyngyn

Staff member
Administrator
Lifetime Donor
7+ Year Member
Nov 4, 2011
Status
Attending Physician
I always thought DUIs were essentially a death sentence? Certainly they aren't going to ignore that

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile