3.4 cGPA and sGPA, 32T MCAT, lots of extracurriculars

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AlexTheEvilOne

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I graduated from a good university with a 3.4 overall (3.4 science as well) and scored a 32T on the MCATs (11p/10v/11b). I have been an EMT in NYC for over 2 years now, have been working in a very good HIV lab for almost 2 years (3 publications in Nature/Science, though not first author). In college I did 3 years of basic science research and did 3 years of leading international student-run medical missions (very difficult stuff). I've also done a bit of shadowing at a local surgery center while working there for about 3 months.

What do you think? I've applied to as broad a range of US med schools as I can. Trouble is I submitted my primary August 5th and am still waiting on that annoying verification (I was bogged down with Australian applications and other things). I'm still EMTing and working, so i don't really have time to do much more, and certainly don't want to wait until the next cycle.

Thanks all

Members don't see this ad.

I should also mention I'm caucasian and have managed to get 5 letters of rec, each from a different part of what I've done on my cv.

It might help if you post the list of schools you actually applied to. Looking at just your stats, they seem to be in line for many mid-tier schools. Your GPA is slightly on the lower end, but your EC's can potentially offset that, particularly the publications and EMT work.

Just make sure you pre-write your secondaries so they can go out as soon as you receive them.

Members don't see this ad :)
Albany
Einstein (mom MD has been teaching there for 25+ years)
BU
Drexel
FIU
GW
Georgetown
Hofstra North Shore
Howard
Jefferson
Loyola
Mt Sinai
NYMC
NYU
Rosalind Franklin U
SUNY Downstate
SUNY Upstate
Stony Brook
Temple
UVM
Tulane
UNC
UW