3 years out of school, only 2 months to study - 25 AA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
I've written and re-written this post a few times. I'm just going to shorten the story and say that I shouldn't have had a chance. I graduated in 2017, haven't thought about science since, accepted a promotion that came with a cross-country move (right in the middle of the COVID-19 pandemic), have a little 2-year-old son that just wants to play with me because I work from home, and a pregnant wife that just entered her third trimester. The odds were stacked against me performing well on the DAT.

Again, I'm shortening this, so just know that I decided to pursue dentistry again with 10 weeks to go before taking the DAT (I had to get it in with decent time to interview before acceptances and such in December). I have decent stats - nothing crazy with a 3.6 GPA and 3.4 sGPA. However, I started at nothing - I'm not exaggerating when I say I couldn't remember the difference between a prokaryotic and eukaryotic cell. I even relearned what ATP was used for and even what stoichiometry meant.

What did I do? I clung to DAT Bootcamp religiously. I stuck to the study schedule and program that they suggest (although I did do a little modification in the last month). I worked until 4 or 5 every day, spent a couple of hours with the fam (Friday's were like a little extended date night), and then hit the "books" (my laptop) until about 1 am. I slept, rinsed, and repeated.