3rd time not charm, need input on 4th

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

determinedJo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So as the title says I have now completed my 3rd application process and I was not accepted to any of the schools (UNC, ECU and LECOM). I had an interview at UNC last cycle and this cycle as well, but not at any other schools. I believe my UNC interview is partly because of my connection to the MED summer program at UNC, which was suppose to help me get into dental school. I also received a "recommended for dental school" from the MED program. I was not a NC resident the 1st year I applied, but was for the 2nd try.

Now for the numbers and where I need some input and advice. First off I have almost 10 years of dental experience, but I know that means nothing. I have figured out the hard way that the DAT and GPA is all that matters, no one cares whether you can look into a mouth for 8 hours a day.

BCP GPA: 2.72
Science GPA: 2.99
Non-Science GPA: 3.5
Overall GPA: 3.16

DAT: PA-16, QR-13, RC-18, BIO-16, GC-15, OC-16, TS-15, AA-16

I know I need to improve my DAT. I took the Princeton course in MED and most of my scores went up by 2-3 points, but it is obviously still not enough. I am planning on taking the Kaplan course to try and get in the 20's.

I am also currently enrolled in a masters program in medical sciences. I realize I have to get all A's. My only concern is in the way the ADEA looks at the GPA's in that the only GPA that will be effected by my A's in graduate classes will be the overall GPA and the graduate GPA...am I right on this? If that is the case, will taking this masters program help if I was to get all A's?

This fourth time will be my final time, so I am ready to do whatever I have to. I have read on here that I should apply to 10-15 schools to increase my odds, does anyone have any thoughts on this and which schools might be good for me to apply to?