PhD/PsyD 495 on EPPP (74 NY), so discouraged...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psychely

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I took the EPPP today (I suppose yesterday now) for the second time after spending 2.5 intensive months (following a break after failing in March of this year, which I studied lightly for about a month) reading AR/AATBS texts, listening to PsychPrep audios, and taking AR practice tests.

What really bothers me, is that I felt pretty good during the exam, and to have a score 5 points away from passing makes it that much more of a bitter pill to swallow. The problem for me is that I really think I know the material, but I have always struggled with multiple choice format, but this has not usually been a problem since most of my undergraduate and graduate studies focused much more on written evaluations.

After studying so intensely for the past couple of months, I feel exhausted, drained, and so disappointed that had I answered maybe one or two questions better, I would have passed. The idea of going to the testing centre and taking the exam for a third time is so daunting and depressing, not to mention the studying I'll have to do prior to that. I suppose there's some little part of me that is hoping that I can possibly appeal the score, or that my licensing board might accept the score anyway, but I highly doubt it.

The worst part is that I so anticipated to pass, that I preemptively booked a holiday which I now don't even believe I deserve or will enjoy :(

Members don't see this ad.

Ouch. That is frustrating to be so close yet so far!