A Little Advice, Please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neutropos

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I just joined this site recently after reading the content for several months. I never had anyone comment on my stats and I would certainly appreciate it if I could get a few comments. I am no looking to apply to any top 20 schools, but the closest to a top 20 I'd apply to (which I know is a crapshoot) is UVA. As a MN resident, I would apply to University of Minnesota for sure. I would also try Miami, NYMC, Georgetown, George Washington, and others I can not think of right now (I haven't put too much thought into it as I'm applying next year).

I took the MCAT the first time unprepared last year and received a 29M (VR: 7 PS: 11 BS: 11). I studied once or twice a week this summer (so incredibly busy) and retook the MCAT in August. This time I received a 34N (VR: 9 PS: 12 BS: 13). I am not retaking for verbal as I know I'd be risking it. I averaged 9-10 on my practice tests, so you can see why it'd be a huge risk.

My GPA is 3.881 with a BCPM GPA of somewhere around 3.81.

I've done over 2 years of clinical research at an ER, 1 year of volunteer at a hospital, 5 months of cancer research, received a scholarship, research grant and presented posters at a symposium, worked a summer at an insurance company resolving issues with the elderly, I teach a lab section for a human anatomy & physiology at my university, and dean's list stuff. I'm gonna continue cancer research during my year off (and am doing this over the school year), and continue clinical research at the ER.

Sorry for my loaded post. I didn't know I'd write so much! Thanks in advance for any advice, and I'm happy to join you all on SDN!

Members don't see this ad.