A post about my MCAT failure + disappointing my parents over and over. Feel like an absolute loser and an idiot right now.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jack-Kennedy35

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,
This is going to be pretty raw and detailed so thanks in advance for taking the time to read it. I am a recent graduate of a top 20 school, having completed my final class in September of 2019. My gpa is a 3.83 and my science gpa is a 3.77. I have had unfortunate experiences with the mcat and that's what my post is going to be about.

The summer of my junior year of college, I signed up for a prep course but I underestimated the material that would be required for the exam (having not completed physiology or Psych) and so I just feel behind quickly and was unable to take my exam that september. I told my parents and they were so disappointed but I told them that I know now what I need to study and so I can take it in January and I'll be fine. Well with my classes, I was unable to study and january came and I had no heart to tell them that I wasn't ready. So I took the exam and voided it. They were once again extremely sad and dejected but I told them that for sure I will take it in March, having taken on an easier course load. Obviously, once again it was just too much and I couldn't take the exam. I told them I voided it again and that too was another source of sadness.