Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

about Cellular respiration

Discussion in 'DAT Discussions' started by joonkimdds, Nov 21, 2005.

1. joonkimdds

joonkimdds Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    Hi, I am taking biology course and I just took an exam about cellular metabolism, respiration and mitosis.

metabolism and mitosis were easy to understand but i had trouble with respiration during the test.

When i studied for mitosis(for example) i memorized every single part of the organelles and how it works for each phase and so on.
    I took bio when i was in high school and this was the 2nd time that i learned it so it wasn't hard to understand.

but cellular respiration is a new chapter that learned and had a test. it's much more complicated to memorize compared to mitosis and i bombed this section.

other students told me to forget about it since the test is over, but i am a bio major student and i know that i should study for DAT exam.

Do u guys think it's good enough to just look at kaplan blue book or more in detail?
    I still have hard time understanding how glucose, ATP, NADH, FADH and blah blah blah stuff.
    any advice of how to study the cellular respiration? especially to prepare for DAT exam? because i also heard that DAT exam may not ask too much in depth.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. SMC2UCLA2_

SMC2UCLA2_ Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

I would say forget about it for now and you will study it when its time for the DAT. If you are like me then studying it now wont do any good if ur taking the DAT a year from now.

As far as respiration- I dont find it that difficult. Its really just a matter of memorization. If you post some more specific questions then maybe I or someone else can elaborate.

4. food4thots

food4thots Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Dental Student