Academic Dishonesty

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Boronew

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone.
I'm a pre-dental student at a small private school. I'm currently a senior, and I'm getting ready to apply to dental school once I graduate on May 2023.
As you have guessed by the title of this post, I made a huge and embarrassing mistake: academic dishonesty.

Let me explain what happened.
It happened during the Fall semester of my junior year. I was taking an introductory religion course at that time, and I genuinely enjoyed the class. There was a book review assignment. For the assignment, I just had to choose one book and write a book review about it. It was very simple, but due to my laziness, I started the assignment 3 days before the deadline. That was when I realized I had made a big mistake. The book that I chose to read wasn't available anymore. I started to feel great pressure from this. Maybe I was blinded by this pressure, so instead of emailing my professor about my situation, I searched for a summary and a book review. I found them, and I wrote my book review based on these two online sources. My professor noticed the similarity, and she told me this was plagiarism. In the end, I was given academic dishonesty with a penalty, which was a grade deduction to C+.