Accepted to a post bacc—need a 494 mcat score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Auora

Reaction score
hi

So I’ve been accepted to a post bacc program and need a 494 to advance to their medical school. I am a non traditional student and have been out of school for a few years. Can any one give me some advice or tips on how to begin studying? I have about 5 months of study time.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

hi

So I’ve been accepted to a post bacc program and need a 494 to advance to their medical school. I am a non traditional student and have been out of school for a few years. Can any one give me some advice or tips on how to begin studying? I have about 5 months of study time.

Thank you
A 494 is the 27th percentile. Just do UWorld and a few practice tests and you should be more than fine. I would imagine you could guess your way higher than a 494.

Reactions: 1 user
hi

Thank you

Have you finished all of your prerequisite classes? If yes, when was the last time you took them? Either way, I'd suggest starting with content review before moving to practice questions. Find one that works for you (TPR, Kaplan, TBR etc.).

I also agree with Dochopeful13. I made it a goal to finish all the questions (1800 or so) on UWorld before moving to other practice tests and then AAMC a month out before my exam. UWorld is also good for content review as you move through the questions. By the time I made it to AAMC materials (QPacks, SB, FL1,2,3 etc.), I was very familiar with a lot of concepts. AAMC FL tests are the best predictor of your score, so save them till you feel somewhat ready and about a month or so out from your actual test date.

Have you finished all of your prerequisite classes? If yes, when was the last time you took them? Either way, I'd suggest starting with content review before moving to practice questions. Find one that works for you (TPR, Kaplan, TBR etc.).