Accepted To Previous Cycle, What Happens to My Other Applied Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Scalpel

Reaction score
Hello this is an unexpected and unique situation I’m hoping to get information on. I applied to the current 2023 cycle, and a great DO school reached out and accepted me into the previous 2022 cycle starting in a few days!

1 year I’m ahead now, after sending supplemental apps to other schools. What happens now? Do those schools know I’m going to be a student in a DO program? If they invite me to an interview, can they accept me even if I’m a student and is it even possible for that to happen?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I don't think you can transfer medical schools after completing your first year. I honestly would just take the acceptance if I were you. This cycle could be more difficult than the past one and you risk the chance of striking out with 0 acceptances.

Last edited:
Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Just withdraw your application to the other schools if you intend to go to the school that accepted you.

Withdraw from all of the schools you applied to this cycle if you are accepting the DO acceptance. Congratulations.

Reactions: 3 users
Withdraw from all of the schools you applied to this cycle if you are accepting the DO acceptance. Congratulations.
This^^^^.

OP, what you asking about just isn't done. Most people are not willing to lose the year.

While AMCAS doesn't technically ask about prior matriculation to a DO program, all schools do require all transcripts for every post-secondary institution where you were enrolled for at least one course, even if the credits were transferred, no credit was earned, or you withdrew.

If you get caught messing around with this, your medical career will be over. And, if you disclose that you are currently enrolled in a DO program, no MD program will accept you.