Applying this Cycle?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sortaconfused123

Reaction score
This is my first time posting on here, so I'm sorry if this is the wrong place or format. I'm wondering whether I should apply for med school this cycle or the next, but I'm unsure if my age when applying (19) would put me at a disadvantage. I'm hoping to go straight to med school out of undergrad, but I would reconsider if applying this cycle will significantly hurt my chances at getting into a decent school. I'm not aiming for T10's or anything like that, but I want to get into a school on the West Coast (near home) if possible. I've heard med schools prefer older applicants with more life experience, and I'd like to get an idea of how much that could affect my chances if I apply.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If you apply next cycle (so one gap year) your gap year will not really be "building your application" because you'll presumably graduate in May 2025, apply soon after, and start a gap year job around the same time, meaning those hours will be projected and not weighted as heavily. I'm not an adcom so I won't comment on the age issue, but I would encourage you to take a gap year. A year of being an adult in the real world can only help you.
I honestly think I enjoy being in school more than I'd enjoy any full-time clinical or nonclinical job anyways.
Fair enough, but remember that many of your future patients will have never had the opportunity to think this way. For many, working to make ends meet is the only option. If nothing else, think of a gap year as something that will give you a sliver of insight into what life is like for the majority of your future patients. That year will fly by, I promise.

Reactions: 3 users