ACGME case log system

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hajiyev

Reaction score
I have some questions about the case log system currently in use for surgery resident programs in US. I'm a Dutch business student studying such applications across the world and US seem to be quite advanced with this.
Is the ACGME case log system mandatory to use by surgical residents? If yes at which stage of the medical career it becomes so? I mean would all graduate schools as well as PG require logging cases in that system?
Is anybody using an alternative logbook?

Members don't see this ad.

I have some questions about the case log system currently in use for surgery resident programs in US. I'm a Dutch business student studying such applications across the world and US seem to be quite advanced with this.
Is the ACGME case log system mandatory to use by surgical residents? If yes at which stage of the medical career it becomes so? I mean would all graduate schools as well as PG require logging cases in that system?
Is anybody using an alternative logbook?

Everyone uses the system starting with 1st year of residency. There is no alternative, it is required to enter cases into the ACGME system for them to be counted.

Reactions: 1 user
Thanks! That was my understanding too..
But I also see some other sistems in place such as Surgeon Specific Registry from the American College of Surgeons. This is post-residency application, true? On their website it says it's "an online quality improvement tool and software application database that allows surgeons to track their cases and outcomes in a convenient, easy-to-use manner from their computer or mobile devices".

Regarding the ACGME system of case logs, I see in the discussions that there is some confusion on for what to claim credit when multiple people are in the OR. What would you say are the main pain points of using the system?

Members don't see this ad :)