Active shooter protocols in OR?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Arantius

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
What is your plan for this? Don’t think we can run- is it abandonment? So hide or fight? Anyone do drills on this? I’m a resident and I imagine we would try to barricade the door and turn lights/cell phones/ pagers off...

Members don't see this ad.

What is your plan for this? Don’t think we can run- is it abandonment? So hide or fight? Anyone do drills on this? I’m a resident and I imagine we would try to barricade the door and turn lights/cell phones/ pagers off...
student/resident me? grab the best weapon/like tool nearby (yes, I actually pay attention to what would make sense given the surgery of the day) if I don't happen to have a knife on me, and then post up by the door while cursing the stupid hospital rule that keeps me unarmed

attending me? unfortunately let the cat out of the bag that I'm carrying

Reactions: 5 users
student/resident me? grab the best weapon/like tool nearby (yes, I actually pay attention to what would make sense given the surgery of the day) if I don't happen to have a knife on me, and then post up by the door while cursing the stupid hospital rule that keeps me unarmed

how do you plan on carrying into an OR? would be fairly conspicuous in your scrubs...

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Leg holster wouldn’t show too much in scrubs- also they make vests that hide a lot now... executive holster/ bulletproof vest combo

100 of roc sevo to 1% and hit the road

Reactions: 8 users
I mean I know I've gotten in gun arguments on here with some of you guys, but now you guys have me actually thinking about how bad our security is at my hospital. I'm honestly going to check if our OR doors have locking capabilities. (And maybe go work on my knife throwing skills because that's about all I'll have)