Adding extracurriculars without looking artificially fluffed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Myosin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone

I was planning on applying to PT school this year, but sadly, my mother passed away in January. She struggled with several types of cancer the entire time I was in college. I don't like using it as an excuse for a lower gpa, but it did put an extreme amount of stress on our family, and I had to travel back home from school every weekend to help my family.

I spent the first 6 months of this year completely depressed and basically crying in bed. Needless to say, I couldn't get all my PTCAS stuff in order in time. I recently started retaking all the prereqs I got Bs in at my local community college. I plan to have a perfect 4.0 prereq gpa when I apply next July. My cumulative gpa will be about ~3.47, give or take a hundredth.

I am currently studying for the GRE too and am consistently testing around 160v and 165q, so I will use those numbers as placeholders for now

The problem is that my application has zero extracurriculars. I work full time as a plumbers assistant now. I average between 20-30 hours a week. The rest of my time is spent studying for the GRE and doing clinic hours. I estimate I will have ~1000 observation hours by the time I apply.

What types of quality extracurriculars can I add between now and next July that won't look like artificial fluff on my resume? I enjoy everything from sports to literature to public service. Currently all I can think of is that I used to do powerlifting competitions, but had to stop due to obvious time restraints.

TLDR version

University of South Carolina: Exercise Science
gpa:3.47
prereq gpa: 4.0
160v 165q GRe
~1000 hours in a variety of settings by next July
0 extracurriculars
Applying: MUSC, Tennessee State, St. Augustine, Elon, Western Carolina University,

Thanks in advance.