Adivce for a non-trad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chicken Tenda

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,
I am new to the pre-pharmacy world and am wondering if anyone can give me some advice.

Here's my story:
Education:
graduated from Mich. State with a B.S. in Physiology in 2005 (GPA 3.5, science 3.3-3.4)
Currently enrolled in PhD program in bio sciences at top ten university

Work:
NIH two year research internship - 4 co-authored publications (one in Science)
3 years undergrad research

Volunteer:
2 years of teaching kids to read in undergrad

I am really not happy in my PhD program. I feel that I am setting myself up for a career of isolation. Doing experiments or writing grants alone all day does not appeal to me. I am a very social person and crave more human interaction. I didn't pick up on the isolation of science until I started grad school because my previous labs were full of young people that were fun to work in a team with. However, I realize now that most career scientists work alone for most of the time.

My questions for you guys are: Is a GPA where mine is competitive for some pharmacy schools? How did you go about getting a pharmacy volunteer position? Is it possible to shadow / volunteer at a local chain pharmacy?

Would it look bad to leave this PhD program before I complete the PhD? Would it be necessary to stick it out for a masters? Are there certain schools that would value my research experience more than others?

Members don't see this ad.

bump.

Is there anyone out that has (or knew anyone that has) a similar situation to mine?

bump.

Is there anyone out that has (or knew anyone that has) a similar situation to mine?