Advice about doing Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neolandrover

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering if I could get the perspectives of some of the more seasoned psychiatrists out there. I am currently a third year resident and have been back and forth trying to decide if I want to do an addictions fellowship. Our current program actually prepares us fairly well in basic substance abuse treatment and detox. These are sort of the pros/cons based on my values.

Pros
-In depth understanding of substance abuse, which is in huge demand/need in this country
-Probably would be able to go to a top tier program in a new city
-Continue to hone general skills as a psychiatrist
-Networking
-Increased potential for job opportunities

Cons
-I don't like busy work or scutwork. As a resident I have done social work, picked up meds for patients, accompanied them to MRIs etc. I don't want to do this ever again. Granted, I expect this to be much less of an issue as a fellow.
-I don't like doing research and I have not done any as a resident
-The potential pay as an attending is very lucrative. I really don't want to moonlight as a fellow to supplement income.

Ultimately, I still want to practice general adult outpatient psychiatry, and do not see myself doing solely addictions work. Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Pretty good pro/con list, and the only deal-breaker in the cons is the opportunity cost of that year. Nevertheless, the workload for most fellowships generally leaves plenty of room to augment income fairly easily, and it's only one year. If you don't do it as PGY5, chances are you never will. Once you've done it it's "confirmed credentials" as someone who knows their stuff with addictions, and that can't be taken away from you. Lots of ways to make yourself useful to your colleagues with that.

Reactions: 1 user
Pros